Children’s Car Seat Guideline
Transportation of a child in a car in the United States is only permitted by law in a car seat. In America, this law is strictly enforced. On the one hand, American parents are stopped by fines for non-compliance with the rules, on the other, it has already become the norm. Only after the newborn leave the hospital in a special device. Without this device, parents simply will not be released from the clinic.
In the US, every family has cars. Visitors also usually rent a car first. The rules for transporting children in a car seat according to the law apply to everyone. The severity of the law is due to the state’s concern for road users. A toddler simply strapped to a car seat is 4 times more likely to be injured in an accident than a toddler strapped into a car seat. In addition, the device dampens vibrations and reduces the stress on the child’s internal organs and spine.
Americans themselves obey the law and closely monitor other car drivers. On the roads of the States, there are often banners calling to report traffic violations to the police. One call – and careless parents are intercepted by the road police. The police not only monitor the implementation of the children’s car seat laws, but also require that the device be fixed in the cabin in accordance with all the rules. Each driver can independently check this by contacting the location of the fire department.
Fines for violating the rules for transporting children in a car in America
Transportation of a child in a car in America is governed by state-specific traffic rules. Standards vary slightly – most states prohibit children from sitting in the front seat, and those who have grown out of a car seat must be seated in booster seats.
Depending on the state, there are the following requirements:
California – From birth to 2 years of age, carried in a back seat, rear facing. From 2 to 8 years old (height up to 145 cm) – transportation in the back seat in a chair in any position. Children over 8 years old wear a seat belt. Penalty: $ 100.
Arizona – from birth to 4 years old – in a child seat, from 5 to 7 years old – in a fixing device until they reach a height of 145 cm. Children taller than 145 cm are fastened with a belt. Penalty: $ 50.
New York – from birth to 7 years old – in a seat, from 8 to 15 years old and after reaching a weight of 18 kg – are fixed with a belt. Penalty: $ 100.
Florida – from birth to 5 years in a seat. Penalty: $ 100.
Texas – from birth to 7 years old and up to 145 cm – in a fixation device. Penalty: from $ 25.
New Jersey – from birth to 2 years old – in a back seat, device facing back. From 2 to 4 years (weight up to 18 kg) – in the back seat in a chair in any position. Over 8 years old and upon reaching 18 kg, they are fixed with a belt. Penalty: $ 75.
Utah – from birth to 7 years old and up to 145 cm – in a car seat. Over 8 years old and upon reaching 145 cm – fasten with a belt. Penalty: $ 45.
Washington DC – from birth to 8 years old and up to 145 cm – in a car seat. Over 8 years old and upon reaching 145 cm, they are fixed with a belt. Children under 13 are in the back seat. Penalty: $ 124.
The penalty for the absence of a fixing device is imposed already at the first violation. A driver who violates traffic rules is treated as a criminal. If there are aggravating circumstances, he is threatened with community service.
Car seat for newborns: what to look for when choosing it
When leaving the hospital with a newborn, be prepared to show the staff the car seat secured in your personal transport. In America, you will not even be released from the parking lot of the clinic until you are sure that the baby is securely fixed in accordance with the rules of a particular state. Therefore, the necessary device should be purchased before delivery.
Car seats are divided into several types, depending on the weight of the child. There are 2 models for newborns: “0” – for babies weighing from 0 to 10 kg, “0+” – from 0 to 13 kg. It is recommended to choose them, and not universal car seats designed for weight from 0 to 13 kg – they are inconvenient for newborns. In addition, in crash tests, such models showed their inconsistency for the age group under 1 year.
The main feature of “0” or “0+” is to fix the child in a semi-recumbent position. In most states, the device is installed against the direction of movement – this rule is explained by the physiological characteristics of the baby. Up to one year old, the baby’s head is ¼ of the body length (for an adult, the indicator is 1/7), therefore, if the chair is installed in the direction of travel, the likelihood of injury increases.
It is recommended to select a device with a base. The base is fixed in the car and the device itself is already fixed on it. To get the baby out of the salon, there is no need to take him out of the seat – the latter is simply unfastened from the base and taken out with the child. This is convenient, because you do not have to bother the baby himself, who can sleep soundly at a particular moment.
There is nothing complicated in American laws – the main thing is to securely fix the baby in the car seat and comply with the requirements of safe traffic.
Tags: auto, child seat